Grandparents!

After the long study process of getting ready for my RLAT (I passed!), we decided it was time for some R&R on the island.

First stop, Victoria. It had been some time since my folks had seen him, and they were amazed and delighted with how big he was getting, and how interactive and playful he is. Tristan is definitely no longer an infant – he’s still a baby, but he’s closer to being a “little boy”every day. My mom bought him some stackable nesting cups, and they were a big hit.

We also tried out hiking boots – my sister Melissa (check out her blog!) raided the Free Store on Cortes Island, and came away with tons of cute clothes for him, including these great shoes and pants.

Next we went up to Nanaimo, to visit auntie Jen and hang out with Oliver, who is 6 weeks older than Tristan. The boys had fun playing together, despite Oli’s head-licking proclivities. Thanks to auntie Jen for the cute Canada Day outfit! (Video to be posted soon on TristanTube, once it finishes loading!)

Finally, we went up to Comox to visit Nathan’s mom, and to make invitations for our wedding. A huge shout-out to Heidi, who stayed up until 2am helping us Saturday night (we only lasted until 12:30), and without whose expertise (and crafting supplies) we couldn’t have done it.

It wasn’t all work, though – she got to spend some quality Omi time with Tristan too, feeding him,  reading to him and giving him a bottle. (Notice the sweet “tie-chair”- it ties on to almost any chair, and keeps him nice and sturdy – great for when you don’t have a high chair. I highly recommend this product! Now I’ll wait for the sponserships to roll in…)

I love this photo of my granny and my son – 88 years apart, and already in love. I love you, Gee Gee!

Leave a Reply

